Rant: Message to People Who Complain About Mojang's Development Cycle (i.e. updates take too long to come out)

• Thread starter /u/almostambidextrous
  • Start date
U

/u/almostambidextrous

Aight so I'm a programmer for a big corporate firm; not the world's best programmer by a long shot, I'm no Linus Torvalds, but I do well enough to get paid. I've also authored a half-dozen or so datapacks for Minecraft, and I've read the game's source code before 1.13.

...Programming is HARD, ok? The basics of learning a language are easy enough, the real difficulty comes in when you're dealing with a big existing code base and trying to update it without f**king up the features that are already there; you've got to understand all the code that is previously written and gently nudge it in the new direction you want to go. (just look at Bedrock for an example of how buggy things can get when they're rushed)

Working conditions for programmers in big companies are often not great, and this is especially true for the gaming industry, which is fucking brutal—although I have not been part of it myself, I have heard stories even when I was in Uni and was actively discouraged from joining it by one very particularly plain-spoken professor.

I see a lot of whingeing from people on this subreddit that Minecraft updates aren't frequent enough and don't offer enough new content (especially compared to mods*); I think that y'all have a very distorted perspective, this rate of releases is what should be NORMAL for a team of their size who aren't constantly being crunched, and IMO we should hope to see more game studios do like Mojang does and offer a good work/life balance for their employees.

Minecraft would not be the game that it is if Mojang's work culture were as hardass as some people want it to be.